Patron saint of Thornbury, spritz and good times, Santa Giovanna embodies everything we’re passionate about - community, food, booze and music! Each year in May we throw a week long party in celebration of our beloved Saint.

2019 was the second year of the festa and we had an amazing week celebrating over five diverse events. We drank, we ate and boy did we dance! If you missed out on the party, it went a little like this…

PS - Follow @festadisantagiovanna on Instagram and Facebook to stay up to date with the 2020 festa!

MONDAY: The Northside Charity Ball

Kicking off the festa, this event supported the work of Free to Feed, with live music from The Twoks, Horns of Leroy and a DJ set by Fee B Squared - it was loose!

Photo 20-5-19, 8 43 28 pm.jpg
Photo 20-5-19, 6 45 24 pm.jpg
Photo 20-5-19, 7 38 53 pm.jpg

TUESDAY: Big Night in Thornbury

Collaborating with our friends at The Thornbury Picture House, we rolled out the red carpet with a special movie screening of the Stanley Tucci classic, Big Night with Aperitivo canapés.

Photo 20-5-19, 7 41 15 pm.jpg
Photo 20-5-19, 10 51 52 pm.jpg
Photo 21-5-19, 6 26 21 pm.jpg
Photo 21-5-19, 6 26 12 pm.jpg

WEDNESDAY: Stories from a Suitcase

Our inaugural story writing competition had us laughing and crying with emotional tales of migration. Grazie mille to everyone who entered and auguri to the two prize winners - Allison and Laura!

Photo 22-5-19, 7 45 52 pm.jpg

Saturday - Discoteca Grande

The BIG DANCE of the festa. We carved up the dance floor with live band Bella Ciao and a line up of our very own ‘All Star DJ’s’.

DiscotecaGrande_LowRes@HiSylvia-2.jpg
DiscotecaGrande_LowRes@HiSylvia-340.jpg
SantaGIovanna_Web@HiSylvia-34.jpg
SantaGIovanna_Web@HiSylvia-133.jpg
Photo 23-5-19, 3 57 19 pm.jpg
DiscotecaGrande_LowRes@HiSylvia-316.jpg

SUNDAY: Sagra della Salsiccia

Bringing the festa to a close and celebrating the home coming of our patron saint, Siesta Cartel lead a procession through the streets of Thornbury. Joined by The Meat Room (who bought us home made sausages and bombette) and Eat Cannoli, the festa drew to a close in fine form.

SantaGIovanna_Web@HiSylvia-97.jpg
SantaGIovanna_Web@HiSylvia-202.jpg
SantaGIovanna_Web@HiSylvia-287.jpg